30 August, 2012

ALL ABOUT INDIA :: as on july 2012

All About India

Geography of India

MITS Gwalior Roosting Birds near Bhopal Chromepet Church under renovation

Prayer Wheels River Turns Red at Hampi after Rain

Baichung Bhutia Ravi Teja Swarnamalya Abhishek Bachchan Valiyaveetil Diju

Population Of India

Family Vacation Tour In India

How India Mesmerized V.S. Naipaul.

Great Indian Recipes

Notable Destinations For Beach Holidays In India

Mahatma Gandhi

Rangoli - Indian Culture

Agra Fort

Elephanta Caves

Red Fort Delhi

Qutb Minar

Taj Mahal

India is one of the countries of Asian continent which is known for its cultural heritage and traditions. New Delhi is the capital of India. It is the biggest democratic country in the world in terms of population. It spreads over an area of 3,287,263 square kilometers and ranks seventh in the world in its geographical area. It ranks second in its population with 1,210,193,422 people with a density of 368.4 people per square kilometer. It ranks second in the world in its population and 31st in the world in density of population. The currency of India is Indian rupee. Hindi and English are the official language of India and the constitution of India has recognized 22 languages spoken in the country.

Geography of India

India is blessed with natural boundaries on all four directions. The Himalayas in the north separates India from other Asian countries. Indian Ocean lies to its south, Bay of Bengal to its south east, Arabian Sea to its south west, Pakistan to its west, Myanmar and Bangladesh to its east and China, Nepal and Bhutan to its north east. India lies between 8 4’ and 37 6’ latitudes and 68 7’ and 97 25’ longitudes. Its length from north to south is 2,214 kilometers and from east to west is 2,933 kilometers. India has a coastline of 7,517 kilometers including that of Andaman and Nicobar and Lakshadweep island groups. Narmada, Tapti, Krishna, Cauvery, Godavari, Ganges, Yamuna, Brahmaputra and Mahanadi are some of the important rivers of India.

Climate of India

The climate of different places of India falls under one of these climatic zones which are tropical wet, tropical dry, subtropical humid and montane. India gets its rainfall from southwest monsoon winds and northeast monsoon winds. The annual average rainfall of India ranges between 750 mm and 1500 mm. The average temperature of India in summer is from 25 degree Celsius to 35 degree Celsius and the average temperature of India in winter is from 14 degree Celsius to 25 degree Celsius.

History of India

The Vedas and epics such as Mahabharata and Ramayana speak about the ancient history of India which is also called Bharat. Many dynasties such as Gupta dynasty, Mughal dynasty, Chalukya dynasty, Chera, Chola, Pandya and Pallava dynasties ruled over India at various times. The European settlements in India started in 17th century and it went into the control of the British gradually and with the efforts of great leaders of India such as Mahatma Gandhi, Jawaharlal Nehru, Sardar Vallabhai Patel, etc. India got its independence on 15th August 1947.

Government of India

The constitution of India came into existence on 26th January 1950. The Indian administration is divided into three branches, executive branch, legislative branch and judicial branch. President is the head of the country and Prime Minister is the head of the government. The parliament of India has two houses Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. In judicial branch Supreme Court is the apex body and the High Courts and Subordinate Courts comes under it.

For administrative purposes, India is divided into 28 states and 7 union territories based on linguistic lines.

Country Capital President* Prime Minister*

India New Delhi Pranab Mukherjee Dr. Manmohan Singh

State Capital Chief Minister*

Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad Nallari Kiran Kumar Reddy

Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar Nabam Tuki

Assam Dispur Tarun Kumar Gogoi

Bihar Patna Nitish Kumar

Chhattisgarh Rajpur Raman Singh

Goa Panaji Manohar Parrikar

Gujarat Gandhinagar Narendra Modi

Haryana Chandigarh Bhupinder Singh Hooda

Himachal Pradesh Shimla Prem Kumar Dhumal

Jammu and Kashmir Srinagar and Jammu Omar Abdullah

Jharkhand Ranchi Arjun Munda

Karnataka Bengaluru Jagadish Shettar

Kerala Thiruvananthapuram Oommen Chandy

Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Shivraj Singh Chauhan

Maharashtra Mumbai Prithviraj Chavan

Manipur Imphal Okram Ibobi Singh

Meghalaya Shillong Mukul Sangma

Mizoram Aizawl Lal Thanhawla

Nagaland Kohima Neiphiu Rio

Orissa Bhubaneswar Naveen Patnaik

Punjab Chandigarh Prakash Singh Badal

Rajasthan Jaipur Ashok Gehlot

Sikkim Gangtok Pawan Kumar Chamling

Tamil Nadu Chennai J. Jayalalitha

Tripura Agartala Manik Sarkar

Uttar Pradesh Lucknow Akhilesh Yadav

Uttarakhand Dehradun Vijay Bahuguna

West Bengal Kolkata Mamata Banerjee

Union Territory Capital Head*

Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair President of India

Chandigarh Chandigarh President of India

Dadra and Nagar Haveli Silvassa President of India

Daman and Diu Daman President of India

Lakshadweep Kavaratti President of India

Delhi Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit

Pondicherry Pondicherry Chief Minister N. Rangaswamy

Popular Posts